Ferrari F1 team unveils F60 monopost

Article by Christian A., on January 14, 2009

The first to launch a race car for the 2009 season of the Formula One Championships, Ferrari has unveiled the F60 in a low-profile event at the firm's Maranello base. The F60 designation stands for the fact that it was only the Ferrari brand that ran all 60 seasons and is in no way connected to a famous supercar 10 years ago with the same name.

Due to F1's regulations for this year, the F60 comes with a lower but wider front wing and a taller but narrower rear wing. This new aerodynamic configuration will certainly have a considerably lesser amount of downforce in contrast to last year's version, however, this current version enables the driver to make some minor adjustments for the front wing from the cockpit.

A return of slick tires and the optional Kinetic Energy Recovery System (KERS) will be seen on the F60. The KERS of Ferrari has been developed in collaboration with Magneti Marelli and is mounted on engine at the center under the back part of the chassis.
Further details consist of a reduced rpm from 19,000 to 18,000 revs, and a 7-speed gearbox and a modified Type 056 V8 engine that must, in accordance with the latest regulations, last three races.

The Ferrari F60 succeeds the Ferrari F2008, which Scuderia Ferrari used to take part in the 2008 season of the Formula One. Unveiled to the public on January 6, 2008, the Ferrari F2008 is equipped by a standard Electronic Control Unit (ECU) from McLaren Electronic Systems. This ECU removed most of the driver aids used in previous seasons such traction control, engine braking as well as electronically assisted starting system.

Weighing more than Ferrari F2007 race car used in the 2007 season, the Ferrari F2008 allowed the Italian sports car maker to win the 2008 Formula One World Constructors’ Championship. It tallied a total of 172 points, as followed by McLaren-Mercedes with an overall score of 151 points. BMW Sauber was at third with total points of 135.

However, Scuderia Ferrari’s Felipe Massa failed to win the World Drivers’ Championships, trailing by one point behind eventual champion Lewis Hamilton of McLaren-Mercedes. Massa earned a total of 97 points after winning the 2008 Bahrain Grand Prix, Turkish Grand Prix, French Grand Prix, European Grand Prix, Belgian Grand Prix and the Brazilian Grand Prix.

Hamilton, on the other hand, won the 2008 Australian Grand Prix, Monaco Grand Prix, British Grand Prix, German Grand Prix and the Chinese Grand Prix. At third overall was Kimi Raikkonen of Scuderia Ferrari, who scored a total of 75 points.

If you liked the article, share on:



It has been nearly eight years since Toyota entered a new era of sports cars when it officially unveiled the production version of the Toyota 86 – also known as...
by - February 27, 2019
The new Audi TT RS – yes, the top version of the German carmaker’s facelifted TT model series – is now officially here. If you could remember, the range-topping TT...
by - February 18, 2019
Nearly half a year ago when McLaren Automotive unveiled the McLaren 600LT Coupe, the British carmaker is now introducing a version that lets its passengers enjoy the thrill of an...
by - January 25, 2019
German carmaker Volkswagen is now making the latest evolution of the new Volkswagen Golf GTI -- the new Golf GTI TCR. First unveiled as a concept at the annual GTI...
by - January 24, 2019
It has been three and a half years since BMW unveiled the sixth generation of the BMW 7 Series. Thus, it is really about to give the 7 Series a...
by - January 17, 2019