Mercedes-Benz announces new nomenclature

Article by Christian A., on November 11, 2014

Mercedes-Benz has taken the liberty to adopt a new nomenclature for its model series. This will be hard for some customers, fans and enthusiasts of the brand who have familiarized themselves with names such as GL, ML, SL and MLK. It will take a while for them to get accustomed to these new names, but at Mercedes, the new nomenclature signals a more transparent and logical structure.

As we already know, the Mercedes-Maybach has been confirmed as a sub-brand of Mercedes. This results to the Mercedes-Maybach S600. In the new nomenclature, core model series such as the A Class, B Class, C Class, E Class and the S Class will retain their respective names, and so are the CLA and CLS four-door coupes. However, the new nomenclature will see Mercedes connecting its more rugged models to the G Class (Gelandewagen) SUV, which will retain its moniker. This means that the brand’s crossovers and SUVs will gain a G prefix. The third letter of the moniker will be connected to the core model series.

The GLA is currently connected to the A Class as the GL A-Class. As a result of the new nomenclature, the GLK becomes the GLC, which connects it to the C Class as the GL C-Class. The ML (or M-Class) becomes the GLE, as linked to the E-Class (GL E-Class). The flagship GL becomes the GLS, connecting it to the flagship core model S Class as the GL S-Class. The new nomenclature effectively kills the M-Class moniker.

In addition, the SL roadster retains its name, but the SLK is now known as the SLC.

Also, Mercedes-Benz announced a new nomenclature for its drive systems. As aresult, the Natural Gas Drive models will receive the ‘c’letter for “compressed natural gas”(ex. B200 c), while the BlueTEC and CDI models will receive the‘d’letter for diesel (ex. E 350 d / GLA 200 d).

The Plug-In Hybrid and Electric Drive models will get the ‘e’letter for “electric”(ex. S 500 e / B 250 e). Fuel Cell models will get an ‘f’for “fuel cell”(ex. B 200 f). Hybrid and BlueTEC Hybrid models will get an ‘h’for “Hybrid”(ex. S 400 h / E 300 h). 4Matic models will remain the same.

"By expanding our brand world we are able to offer our customers some new ideas about Mercedes-Benz", according to Ola Källenius. "Even more choice and individuality in terms of our products, and a transparent and logical structure around them in the form of our new nomenclature.”

If you liked the article, share on:



It has been nearly eight years since Toyota entered a new era of sports cars when it officially unveiled the production version of the Toyota 86 – also known as...
by - February 27, 2019
The new Audi TT RS – yes, the top version of the German carmaker’s facelifted TT model series – is now officially here. If you could remember, the range-topping TT...
by - February 18, 2019
Nearly half a year ago when McLaren Automotive unveiled the McLaren 600LT Coupe, the British carmaker is now introducing a version that lets its passengers enjoy the thrill of an...
by - January 25, 2019
German carmaker Volkswagen is now making the latest evolution of the new Volkswagen Golf GTI -- the new Golf GTI TCR. First unveiled as a concept at the annual GTI...
by - January 24, 2019
It has been three and a half years since BMW unveiled the sixth generation of the BMW 7 Series. Thus, it is really about to give the 7 Series a...
by - January 17, 2019