Finalists for the 2018 North American Car, Truck, and Utility of the Year Awards have been named

Article by Christian A., on December 5, 2017

Before the beginning of the 2017 Los Angeles Auto Show, the finalists of the annual 2018 North American Car, Truck and Utility of the Year Awards have been announced by the jurors. And we now have a list of the finalists in each category of the honors. But before we share with you the list, know that the winners will be revealed by the organization of automotive journalists at the North America International Auto Show in Detroit in January 2018.

For Car of the Year, the finalists are as follows: Toyota Camry, Honda Accord, and Kia Stinger. To recall, the 2016’s finalists were the Chevrolet Bolt, the Genesis G90 and Volvo S90, with the Bolt receiving the award. If you notice, this year’s candidates are some of the more common vehicles and also more affordable.

For Utility of the Year, finalists for this year include Alfa Romeo Stelvio, Honda Odyssey, and Volvo XC60. This is actually one of the newest categories that the jurors created. This was only added to the list last year. In 2016, the finalists were the Chrysler Pacifica, Jaguar F-Pace, and Mazda CX-9. The Pacifica was named the winner.

Last, but not the least of course, would be the Truck of the Year award. For this year, our finalists are the Chevrolet Colorado ZR2, Ford Expedition, and Lincoln Navigator. Who do you think will win this year? Our wild guess would be the Chevy Colorado ZR2. As for the previous year, the shortlist included the Ford F-Series Super Duty, Honda Ridgeline, and Nissan Titan, and it was the Ridgeline that was announced winner of the year by the jurors.

All in all, there will be 57 journalists at this year’s NACTOY awards, and most of them come from the United States and Canada. To be eligible for nomination, a vehicle must be new or at least refreshed from the year before. The elimination process starts from about 50 models, where they get shortlisted after each round. Three rounds of voting will eventually narrow them down to the winners of the three categories.

This year, the organizers decided that winners’ names will appear at a permanent display at Cobo Center. Sorry for past winners, as this process was only approved this year. Ed Welburn, automotive design legend, had even built a stainless steel statue that weighs 100 pounds (45 kilograms) to replicate the look of the NACTOY award.

If you liked the article, share on:



Audi has just unveiled the latest e-tron concept that previews the brand’s third e-tron model. Dubbed as the Audi e-tron GT Concept, this show car is an electric powered four-door...
by - December 18, 2018
German sports car maker Porsche is making its presence the 2018 Los Angeles Auto Show felt further by unveiling to the global public its new Porsche 911 GT2 RS Clubsport....
by - December 10, 2018
The last time the Lincoln Aviator premium SUV made it to the streets was more than a decade ago. It was only produced for three years, and the 2005 model...
by - December 7, 2018
More than a month ago since introducing the BMW X7 to the global public, the German premium carmaker has unveiled its flagship SUV to the North American audience at the...
by - December 5, 2018
What happens when the Jeep Wrangler off-road expert utility transforms into a pickup up? Jeep has the answer unveiled at the 2018 Los Angeles Auto Show in form of the...
by - December 4, 2018