Finalists for the 2018 North American Car, Truck, and Utility of the Year Awards have been named

Article by Christian A., on December 5, 2017

Before the beginning of the 2017 Los Angeles Auto Show, the finalists of the annual 2018 North American Car, Truck and Utility of the Year Awards have been announced by the jurors. And we now have a list of the finalists in each category of the honors. But before we share with you the list, know that the winners will be revealed by the organization of automotive journalists at the North America International Auto Show in Detroit in January 2018.

For Car of the Year, the finalists are as follows: Toyota Camry, Honda Accord, and Kia Stinger. To recall, the 2016’s finalists were the Chevrolet Bolt, the Genesis G90 and Volvo S90, with the Bolt receiving the award. If you notice, this year’s candidates are some of the more common vehicles and also more affordable.

For Utility of the Year, finalists for this year include Alfa Romeo Stelvio, Honda Odyssey, and Volvo XC60. This is actually one of the newest categories that the jurors created. This was only added to the list last year. In 2016, the finalists were the Chrysler Pacifica, Jaguar F-Pace, and Mazda CX-9. The Pacifica was named the winner.

Last, but not the least of course, would be the Truck of the Year award. For this year, our finalists are the Chevrolet Colorado ZR2, Ford Expedition, and Lincoln Navigator. Who do you think will win this year? Our wild guess would be the Chevy Colorado ZR2. As for the previous year, the shortlist included the Ford F-Series Super Duty, Honda Ridgeline, and Nissan Titan, and it was the Ridgeline that was announced winner of the year by the jurors.

All in all, there will be 57 journalists at this year’s NACTOY awards, and most of them come from the United States and Canada. To be eligible for nomination, a vehicle must be new or at least refreshed from the year before. The elimination process starts from about 50 models, where they get shortlisted after each round. Three rounds of voting will eventually narrow them down to the winners of the three categories.

This year, the organizers decided that winners’ names will appear at a permanent display at Cobo Center. Sorry for past winners, as this process was only approved this year. Ed Welburn, automotive design legend, had even built a stainless steel statue that weighs 100 pounds (45 kilograms) to replicate the look of the NACTOY award.

If you liked the article, share on:



BMW has been pretty busy lately with the launch of several models including the M5, i8 Roadster and X2 as well as the facelifted 2 Series Active Tourer. Aside from...
by - February 14, 2018
The next generation of the Jeep Wrangler (JL) is being touted by the brand as having more power, more features and more off-road ability than the previous JK generation. To...
by - December 10, 2017
The teasing is finally over as Subaru has finally taken the wraps off its largest vehicle. It has recently introduced the final production version of the 2019 Subaru Ascent large...
by - December 7, 2017
When the Chevrolet Corvette ZR1 traveled around the world in camouflage before making its official debut in Dubai, we remember seeing convertible versions of it as well, and we anticipated...
by - December 5, 2017
In a country where sport utility vehicles and crossover are of high demand, keeping things fresh could spell success. Kia Motors America is aware of this, which is why it...
by - December 4, 2017