Fernando Alonso wins the 2010 Singapore GP

Article by Christian A., on September 26, 2010

Fernando Alonso of Ferrari obtained his fourth victory of this season in Singapore after a dramatic battle with Red Bull’s Sebastian Vettel that followed him closely and was with only two-tenths of a second slower. Serving as 15th round of the 2010 Formula One season, the 2010 Singapore Grand Prix took place at the Marina Bay Street Circuit in Marina Bay, Singapore on September 26, 2010.

The bad news is that Lewis Hamilton of McLaren-Mercedes was forced to quit the race after he collided with points leaders Mark Webber of Red Bull when fighting for the third place on the 36th lap.

Jenson Button of McLaren-Mercedes took the 4th place and was followed by Rubens Barichello of Williams-Cosworth and Robert Kubica of Renault. Alonso’s teammate Felipe Massa took the 8th place and he was followed by Adrian Sutil (Force India Mercedes) and Nico Hulkenberg Williams-Cosworth, who took the last point from the Singapore GP. Vitali Petrov, driver of Renault, finished the race on 11th place, followed by Jaime Alguersuari (Toro Rosso Ferrari) and Schumacher (Mercedes).

The German driver had a very hard day in Singapore, when he was attacked and pushed into a wall by Kamui Kobayashi (BMW Sauber Ferrari), who was forced to abandon the race after an accident with Bruno Senna (HRT Cosworth).

After Schumacher, the 14th place was taken by Sebastien Buemi (Toro Rosso Ferrari), followed by Lucas di Grassi (Virgin Cosworth) and Heikki Kovalainen (Lotus Cosworth).

Alonso's win doesn’t only mark his fourth in the 2010 season, but also his second straight victory. Two weeks earlier, Alonso won the 2010 after starting from the pole position at the Italian Grand Prix. Prior to the 2010 Singaporean Grand Prix, Alonso was third in the World Drivers’ Championship standings with 166 points. Leading the standings after the 2010 Italian Grand Prix was Webber with 187 points, followed by Hamilton with 182 points. Closely following Alonso at fourth was Button with 165 points and at fifth was Vettel with 163 points.

However, Alonso’s win at the 2010 Singaporean Grand Prix moved him into second place in the World Drivers' Championship standings, just 11 points behind Webber who got 202 points. No thanks to his retirement at the most recent race, Hamilton dropped to third place with 182 points. Closely behind Hamilton is Vettel with 181 points. At fifth is Bunson who fell from fourth place with a score of 177 points.

In the World Constructors’ Championship, Red Bull Renault remains on to with 383 points. McLaren Mercedes is still at second place with 359 points, followed by Ferrari with 319 points. At fourth and fifth were Mercedes (168 points) and Renault (133 points), respectively.

If you liked the article, share on:



With 720 PS (710 hp or 530 kW) of max output, a carbon fiber chassis, aerodynamic body and stunning sports car design, the McLaren 720S is nothing short of amazing....
by - August 30, 2018
It was back in October last year when Volkswagen began teasing us about the fully electric Pikes Peak racer, and last month, they showed us fully revealing images of the...
by - April 25, 2018
Has there ever been an Indy pace car that’s better than the Corvette ZR1 pace car, with 755 horsepower (563 kilowatts)? The answer is a resounding no. As the 102nd...
by - April 21, 2018
Another year means another Formula 1 season. And soon, the 2018 season will kick off this weekend with the Australian Grand Prix in Melbourne. This year marks the 23rd consecutive...
by - March 21, 2018
Earlier this week, the second generation FE design finally made its public debut. Aside from that, we also got an idea of how the final stage of FIA’s technical roadmap...
by - February 3, 2018